NETME Centre

New Technologies for Mechanical Engineering

Departments at Division of Virtual Machine Design and Testing (VMDT) and services offer


Department of Design and Industrial Design

Head of Department: Martin Hartl, Professor, e-mail: hartl@fme.vutbr.cz, tel.: +420 541 142 769

Section of Acoustic Emissions

Section of acoustic emissions focuses on short-and long-term tests in the area of measurement of acoustic emissions, destruction and degradation. We offer following services:

Head of Section: Pavel Mazal, Associate Professor, e-mail: mazal@fme.vutbr.cz, tel.: +420 541 143 229

Section of Optical Diagnostics

Research focuses on optical 3D digitizing and reverse engineering with high accuracy for objects ranging from several millimeters to the order of meters. We offer following services:

We deal with robotic machining of molds, sculptures and design mock-ups. We can machine the parts of large dimensions with high accuracy. More information on www.robotooling.cz.

Head of Section: David Palousek, Associate Professor, e-mail: palousek@fme.vutbr.cz, tel.: +420 541 143 261

Section of Tribology

Section activities focus on experimental investigation of very thin lubricant films. Research includes study of friction, wear, lubrication and surface damage. We offer following services:

Head of Section: Ivan Krupka, Professor, e-mail: krupka@fme.vutbr.cz, tel.: +420 541 142 723

Section of Vibroacoustics

Section activities focus on research and development in the field of static and dynamic noise and vibration tests. We offer following services:

Head of Section: Ivan Mazurek, Associate Professor, mazurek@fme.vutbr.cz, tel.: +420 541 143 308

Section of Design and Development

Section activities focus on conceptual and design phase of product development to manufacturing of prototype. We offer complete product design, processing of visual aspects of a product, design of individual components and manufacturing of prototypes using Rapid Prototyping. We offer following services:

Head of Section: Daniel Koutny, Assistant Professor, e-mail: koutny@fme.vutbr.cz, tel.: +420 541 143 261


Department of Solid Mechanics, Biomechanics

Head of Department: Jindrich Petruska, Professor, e-mail: petruska@fme.vutbr.cz, tel.: +420 541 142 858

Section of Engineering Analysis

Section focuses on computational and consulting activities related to reliability and potential optimization of mechanical structures according to customers’ requirements. We offer following services:

Head of Section: Tomas Navrat, Assistant Professor, e-mail: navrat@fme.vutbr.cz, tel.: +420 541 142 861

NETME Centre was built with the financial support from the Operational Programme Research and Development for Innovations within the project NETME Centre
(New Technologies for Mechanical Engineering), Reg. No. CZ.1.05/2.1.00/01.0002 and, in the follow-up sustainability stage, supported through NETME Centre PLUS (LO1202)
by financial means from the Ministry of Education, Youth and Sports under the „National Sustainability Programme I

© 2019 – Faculty of Mechanical EngineeringBrno University of Technology